Bad Movie Studios – Smash Bros. Demo Impressions

main-3ds-logo

I’ve been super busy lately with college and it’s put some of my videos on hold, but I wanted to make something talking about the demo for Smash on the 3DS. The game’s been out for a week in Japan and will drop on store shelves in America on October 3rd, Friday after next. Since the demos out, I figured I’d give it a try and tell you all what I thought. This WOULD have been a video, but I’m just too busy right now to devote that amount of time, so instead we’re going old school and writing it out like I used to.

The demo allows gives you a handful of characters (Mario, Pikachu, Link, Mega Man and Animal Crossing person…) and allows you to battle it out in a standard free for all battle or with your friends in an online game. I haven’t tied that yet, but I’ve spent a bit of time with the offline mode. Fore the most part, it’s Smash. It feels like Smash, it plays like Smash, and it’s surprisingly intuitive on the handheld console. The controls were pretty quick to figure out, and if you’ve had any experience playing Smash Bros before, you’ll quickly find your grove and start kicking butt once again. the game shows off a few new, interesting, and really powerful weapons and power ups, some of which have to be seen to be believed. My favorite, the Pokeball, makes a return this go around, only this time it includes more Pokemon from the 6th generation. Also, there’s the Masterball, which I used to unleash Entei on my opponents. Good stuff.

I don’t really have that many criticisms of the game so far, A. because it’s only a demo and B. because it’s really just another Smash game, only now you can play on the go. Perhaps the only downside that I can find to the characters is that I’ve noticed their move sets have been tweaked for this release. For example, Link is no longer a combo machine, instead focusing on more heavy strikes. He still retains his arsenal of gadgets and items, but his overall play style is different. Also, characters “B” attacks have been changed. If you’re a veteran of the series you’ll know what I’m talking about. Mario now has a “B” move where he uses that hose contraption from Super Mario Sunshine. I couldn’t remember what move it took the place of, but I did notice that the older move was gone and was disappointed in seeing the stream of water shoot from Marios back. Long story short, there are differences in how characters play this go around, so you may have to spend some time getting used to the changes.

Overall, Smash Bros on the 3DS looks like it’s shaping up to be another solid entry into the series. I’m looking forward to it’s release and can’t wait to get my hands on Charizard (Don’t judge me, G1 for life!) Despite the characters tweaks, it feels just as solid as it did on consoles, so if you had any doubts on the handheld version of the game being a butchered port, don’t. It’s as solid as anything Smash has put out since the N64.

Leave a Reply

